tell me about your first breath of foreign air…

do not tell me
about the cities
I have no use for them
tell me about the oceans
and how they’ve changed in you
⠀⠀⠀about lemongrass
⠀⠀⠀about the summer storms
coming in off your shoreline
about the waters that have
carved canyons in your bones
⠀⠀⠀
do not tell me about the buildings
I do not care for their heights
tell me about your first breath of foreign air
about the history that fills your lungs
tell me about the memories you made
in languages you can’t even
begin to understand
⠀⠀⠀
do not tell me about the mountains
instead tell me how they were formed
tell me about the head-on collision
of tectonic plates
about wrinkles along the fault line
about pockets of earth
that folded up into the sea
⠀⠀⠀
tell me about the rains that washed
⠀⠀⠀that wore you down
about the travels you took
to find yourself
and how you left a part of you in every place
yet somehow always came back
more complete
⠀⠀⠀
— @tylerkentwhite

Leave a Reply

